Got Out of the Boat….The Shore is in Sight

In September 2011, I wrote my first newsletter about the beginning of my journey to Spain.  (If you would like to read it, I re-posted it to this blog a day or so ago.)

And what a journey it has been!

walk_on_water_by_cavecanem42-d4i4cdl

Photo by Bernhard Geier

Since writing it over a year ago, I:
1. Moved out of my apartment of 8 years.
2. Moved in with an amazing family (went from 0 roommates to 6….8 if you include the dogs).
3. Completed all of my training with International Teams.
4. Quit my job of 11 years, as a Commission Analyst with Quantum Corp.
5. Sold, gave away, or packed the rest of my stuff and moved it in to my mom’s garage.
6. Spent the last 5 months gathering partners for Team Spain.

As you can see, a lot has happened over the last year and a half, and now I am starting to see the shoreline.

Last weekend my dad made his (second) day trip to Washington to move myself and the rest of my stuff to Portland.  I am now staying with him and my step-mom (Kay) in their spare bedroom, and preparing the final details for a February departure.

God is moving in miraculous ways, and the support has really been coming in!  I am at about 85%, and am starting to look at shipping companies to send my stuff over to Spain.  Containers, crates, pallets, is the wood treated for international shipping? (what?), should I just get a bunch of really big plastic tubs?  I never knew there was so much to think about to ship my stuff overseas.  Basically, I really need to pack and get organized!  Again.

I am still talking to people, and am even sharing the Pilgrim House ministry with a church group in Seattle in a week or so.  I am close, but not yet there, so I will keep on moving forward.

It all feels a little surreal.  This is REALLY happening!  So much of what needs to be done is running through my head, it is almost paralyzing.

But as I turn to Father God and seek His council, I know that He will calm my racing mind and gently guide me to what needs to be done.

Psalm 121
I lift up my eyes to the hills.
    From where does my help come?
 My help comes from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth.

 He will not let your foot be moved;
    he who keeps you will not slumber.
 Behold, he who keeps Israel
    will neither slumber nor sleep.

 The Lord is your keeper;
    the Lord is your shade on your right hand.
 The sun shall not strike you by day,
    nor the moon by night.

 The Lord will keep you from all evil;
    he will keep your life.
 The Lord will keep
    your going out and your coming in
    from this time forth and forevermore.

About Anne

I moved from Seattle, Washington to join a ministry in Santiago, Spain called Pilgrim House. The Pilgrim House is a place where pilgrims of the Camino can come and find community, conversation, and prayer. This is the story of my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got Out of the Boat….The Shore is in Sight

  1. DeeAnn says:

    I love the photo above–the illuminated path on the water. We can walk that path if we keep our eyes fixed on Him in faith! Praising God for His faithfulness to you, Anne–and for your faithfulness to Him. I don’t know if I’m recalling this correctly or not, but it seems to me that whenever you’ve been kind of stalled at certain points along the way, when you’ve “stepped out of the boat” onto the water, that’s when He has moved things forward. When you quit your job and your apartment, the funds followed. Now that you’ve taken the next step in faith (packed up your stuff and moved to Portland), it wasn’t long before there was a surge in your funding. I am delighting in watching God at work through this process. He is good ALL THE TIME! Love you, my sister in Christ!

Leave a Reply

