Getting Out of the Boat

I wrote this over a year ago, when I was first starting out on this journey to Spain.  It was my first newsletter that I sent using MailChimp.  I am re-posting it here, mostly because I am going to refer to it in the next blog post, and I didn’t want anyone to get left behind.

walking on water

Hello Friends! Welcome to the kickoff of my newsletter via the ridiculously
cool “MailChimp”. These newsletters are intended to keep you up to date on
what is going on with me and my journey to Spain. This letter is meant to be
an introduction. If ever you decide you don’t want to receive these
newsletter updates, you can easily unsubscribe and you’ll be taken off the
list. Otherwise, I’ll keep you on and you’ll get to hear about what is going
on with me. Ready?

When I was in the process of figuring out if I was going to go in to
missions, I listened to a few songs to help encourage me. One of those songs
was “Walk on the Water” by Britt Nicole. It spoke loudest to me during that
time, and it still does today. Many of you may have been part of that
process, or you may have received a previous email from me, so you know that
I am now on that journey to the mission field. For those who haven’t, I have
been accepted by International Teams (ITeams) to go work with a couple in
Santiago de Compostela, Spain who want to start a Welcome Center/Hostel for
the pilgrims who walk “The Camino”.

Some may think that I have already gotten out of the boat when I applied to
ITeams and went to training, and in a sense, yes that was. But, for me, the
real jump off point, is heading in to this next year. The fundraising, the
Visa process, “downsizing” from my apartment to save money, etc. So right
now, I am sitting on the edge of the boat looking at the water below. I know
God has called me to serve in Spain. I know He will provide. But I still
have to get out of the boat. I don’t know how far away Jesus was from Peter
when Peter got to walk on water, but for me Jesus seems like a small dot on
the horizon. I know he is there, but it’s a long way to walk! What if I’m
overtaken by the waves of doubt? What if I don’t make it? When I call for
support, what if no one is there?

If you know Peter’s story, you know that he got out, and he walked on the
water. And when the wind came, and he doubted and began to sink; he cried
out for Jesus to save him. Immediately, Jesus reached out his hand to save
him. Immediately.

I know Jesus isn’t on the horizon. He is next to me on the boat telling me,
“What are you waiting for? What do you have to lose? You know you were made
for more, so don’t be afraid to move. Your faith is all it takes, and you
can walk on the water too.”

So here I go….I take a deep breath…..and jump.

About Anne

I moved from Seattle, Washington to join a ministry in Santiago, Spain called Pilgrim House. The Pilgrim House is a place where pilgrims of the Camino can come and find community, conversation, and prayer. This is the story of my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Out of the Boat

  1. Pingback: Got Out of the Boat….The Shore is in Sight | sANNEtiago Story: Life Along The Camino

  2. Pingback: Getting Out of the Boat | Mining for Treasures

  3. Paul Musser says:

    Anne, may Jesus be so very close to you as you take these next steps! We’re thrilled to learn your support is coming along well, and so look forward to meeting you in person in a few months when we intend to come to Santiago for a week or so. God is on the move, it would seem, and it’s so incredibly thrilling to watch from the front row seats!

    May He continue to encourage you as you focus on Feb 8. Well, I guess your focus is not on the 8th, but rather on Jesus as He invites you to step out on the water. Good place to keep your focus…..

    Thanking Him for your faithful obedience through it all!

    Paul

Leave a Reply

