Praying Isaiah 26

Keep me in your perfect peace
For my mind is focused on you,
Because I trust in you.

I will trust in the Lord forever,
For the Lord God is my everlasting rock.

You Lord make the path of the righteous level;
You make level the way of the righteous.
In the path of your judgments, O Lord, I wait for you;
Your name and remembrance are the desire of my soul.

My soul yearns for you in the night;
My spirit within me earnestly seeks you.
O Lord, give me peace, for you have done for me all my works.

Isaiah 26: 3,4,7,8,9,12

Have you ever felt emotions, but had a hard time putting them in to words?  Like when you pray to God to express them, but can’t because any description or request you give seems to fall short of what is going on in your head/heart/soul?

I do.  All of the time.

I feel like a looped recording sending the same phrases up, using the same words for requests.   I feel like God is bored.  Shoot….I am bored.  Then I just don’t want to say anything at all because I am tired of hearing myself talk.

Then I come across a passage like the one above.

It’s as if God is saying, “Oh yes, I hear where you are coming from.  Is this what you are trying to say?”

YES!

It is an interesting feeling of knowing that I have been heard, but also having newly discovered words to express those feelings and emotions.

I love it!

This particular passage was actually shared by my team leader to help encourage all of us on the team, and he sent it at the perfect time.  I read what he sent and then the rest of the passage. It spoke so well to where I was at the time, that I rewrote it to create the personal prayer above.

Have you ever done something like this?  Is there a verse or passage you have made your own?  Please share it in the comments!  I would love to read it!

About Anne

I moved from Seattle, Washington to join a ministry in Santiago, Spain called Pilgrim House. The Pilgrim House is a place where pilgrims of the Camino can come and find community, conversation, and prayer. This is the story of my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Praying Isaiah 26

  1. michele says:

    Hey Anne,
    Those passages for me lately have been Ps. 62 and 63. 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Anne – over the past couple years Philippians 4:4-8 has been where I have camped – to help me let go control of situations that bring me angst, situations that I cannot change and need to give to God to do the seemingly impossible. And He does. Painfully slowly sometimes, but He does – and generally in the most effective ways that I never could have accomplished in my fleshly methods. Every line of this Phil. passage keeps me on track.
    Right now, w/the recent loss of my granddaughter and consequent crashed faith, I am camping on Psalm 51:10-12, in my desire to regain intimacy with Jesus.
    Praying for you,
    Love, Julie

  3. Anne-Maybe I miised it somewhere but when are you planning on being in Spain-we are doing the last 120km in June and would sure love tomeet up with fellow Christians-even get advice on sharing God’s love while walking the Way. Please mail me your information-contact, address in Santiago etc…!!!

Leave a Reply

