Travel Theme: Spooky

Salem Gravestone

Really old gravestones in Salem, Massachusetts.

A few years ago, around this same time (October), I was in Boston on business and spent a few extra days in the city to check it out.  On one of the days I took a day trip to Salem.  The town was all dressed up and in full swing for the up and coming Halloween holiday.  Of course, there was an old graveyard there, and there were some amazingly old headstones.  I believe the ones I took in this picture were the oldest I could find.

A great idea for a post from fellow blogger Ailsa, check out her site to see other “spooky” photo posts. http://wheresmybackpack.com/2012/10/26/travel-theme-spooky/

About Anne

I moved from Seattle, Washington to join a ministry in Santiago, Spain called Pilgrim House. The Pilgrim House is a place where pilgrims of the Camino can come and find community, conversation, and prayer. This is the story of my journey.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Travel Theme: Spooky

  1. Myra GB says:

    Somehow these photos reminded me of Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book – perfect for the travel theme indeed.

  2. This is a wonderful image – and I love that it’s black and white!

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    I think they are beautiful – gravestones and graveyards fascinate me

    • Anne says:

      These older headstones were certainly interesting to see, especially some of the “art work” they had. Creepy skulls, skeletons, and angel faces. So different and simple. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: travel theme: spooky « my sweetpainteddreams

Leave a Reply

