The Road to Impossible

The past few months have been a whirlwind of activity, and I realized that my blog was supposed to help keep you up to date on those activities.

Major fail.

Thank you for your readership thus far!  Here is a brief update on what has been going on these past few months.

July

July 13th (yes, that was a Friday….how awesome is that?),  I quit my 11 year stint at Quantum/ADIC to officially focus on my next chapter in life…working with pilgrims in Spain.

The next two weekends were spent on events.  One in Seattle and one in Portland.

In Seattle, we were blessed with beautiful weather which only highlighted the amazing views and surroundings.  We were further treated to delicious food cooked by Todd and Tia Marshall, and Tia’s amazing gift at being a fabulous hostess.  My mom even came up for the weekend.  It was encouraging to have her there and fun to introduce her to the Marshall’s and see where I live.

My Lifegroup leader (Nancy), myself, and Asri (another Lifegroup sister).

My good friend from college, Jamie and I.

In Portland, the Stilp family graciously hosted a gathering at their beautiful home for myself and my team leaders, Nate and Faith.  Nate & Faith were stateside for their furlough and are longtime friends of the Stilp’s.  The Stilp’s and my mom go to the same church, Solid Rock Fellowship.

How incredible is that?!  God is such a cool planner!

My team leader, Faith, presenting at the Portland event.

Nate & Faith presenting at the Portland event.

My team leaders (Nate & Faith) and I.

A few days after our Portland event, promptly at oh-dark-thirty, I flew to Chicago for my final two week training at International Teams’ headquarters.

 August

The first few weeks of August were spent at the headquarters of International Teams in Chicago, to learn about how to learn a language.  It is actually much more interesting than what you may think.  Our fabulous instructor, Joy Johnston, taught us phonetics and techniques that would help us learn our respective languages, while in country.

The topic can certainly be drab, so I credit Joy’s extensive knowledge, adorable energy, and genuine care for her students that made the learning experience enjoyable and interesting.

Fellow students of the language acquisition training at International Teams.

Our instructor, Joy, and fellow students.

After training, I flew back to Portland to spend a week and a half talking with people about Pilgrim House and to begin helping my mom clean out her garage.  My stuff has to go somewhere, right?

It was also during this week that I made my whirlwind trip to San Francisco to pick up my Spanish visa.  Saga is detailed in my previous post Visa Tales.

Then it was back to Seattle for an intimate dinner gathering, sharing with friends about the Pilgrim House ministry.

September

September has been spent in the Seattle area talking with people about Pilgrim House and figuring out the next steps in the journey.  I have also been given the opportunity to earn some extra money, working at Russell’s catering.  It is perfect because I can choose how often I work.  I am grateful to Tia Marshall for opening up the opportunity for me!

Praise God for His provision to 46%, and for a real path to 50%!  Only 50% to go!

God is certainly showing that He is taking care of the finances.  In the meantime, I am beginning to prepare for the possibility of a short departure time frame.  I am sorting through current possessions figuring out what to take, to give away, to sell, and to store.  I also have to complete a few more home assignments for training.

It is a lot to think about and complete in a month, but God can make the impossible happen.  I just have to do my part to be ready when He does.

About Anne

I moved from Seattle, Washington to join a ministry in Santiago, Spain called Pilgrim House. The Pilgrim House is a place where pilgrims of the Camino can come and find community, conversation, and prayer. This is the story of my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Road to Impossible

  1. Faith says:

    So cool!! Great update – you’ve definitely had a crazy busy summer. Can’t wait to have you here so soon!

Leave a Reply

