19 Days Down…

It has been 19 days since my last day at Quantum.

The long gap between my last post and now was a desperate attempt to train and close out 11 years of being at the same company and 9 years in the same job.  Although, I was not able to get everything done (a truth my manager reminded me of daily), I left feeling good about what I was able to complete and pass everything on to the next generation of comp analysts.

Since that last day, the last 19 days have been a fumbling attempt to structure time and task.  The terms and conditions of productivity have completely changed, and I frequently ask myself at the end of the day, “WHAT did you DO?”

Ministry Anne is glad to have read a chapter in one of the books she has to read for training, return some emails, spend time with God, map out what needs to be done over the next few days, shop for food for an upcoming event, travel to somewhere, and write some content for her next blog.

Corporate Anne rattles off all of the other tasks that still need…no, could be done (it is still daylight after all), and busily begins to organize and arrange those tasks so that they can be completed in the most efficient manner.  “You can’t spend 3 hours working on your blog!  You can get v, w ,x ,y , and z done!  When you finish those, THEN you can work on the blog.” or “Why do you have to go for a walk to talk to God? Can’t you do it while you run your errands?  That would be so much more efficient.”

Life adjustments abound, and what was once considered luxury is now daily life.  As I spend more time with God and in His Word, it is clearer how different His ways are to how we live today.  What we think is productive or valuable, does not align with what God values.  Having traveled so far and for so long down the corporate path, this new path is a bit of a shock to my little brain as it struggles to grasp that this is something better.

How applicable is Jesus’, “Come to me” commandment is for today as it was back in 28 AD.
How sad that I have to remind myself to do it daily.
How thankful I am that he patiently waits until I do show up.

About Anne

I moved from Seattle, Washington to join a ministry in Santiago, Spain called Pilgrim House. The Pilgrim House is a place where pilgrims of the Camino can come and find community, conversation, and prayer. This is the story of my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 19 Days Down…

  1. JanLopez says:

    Hi Anne- love reading about your new adventure and your love for Jesus.. you are a beautiful writer..keep listening to God and you will soar high like Eagles! Hugs, Jan Lopez

  2. Shannon Smith says:

    Corporate Shannon still struggles to find time for reading blogs. Glad I made the time today. I have enjoyed all of your entries and look forward to your next update.

Leave a Reply

